COUNCIL

Minutes of the meeting held on 8 February 2024 at 7.00 pm in Council Chamber, Council Offices, Cecil Street, Margate, Kent.

Present: ; Councillors Edwards (Chair), Owen-Hughes, Albon, Ara, Austin, J Bayford, Boyd, Braidwood, Bright, Bright, Britcher, Crittenden, Currie, d'Abbro, Davis, Dawson, Dennis, Donaldson, Duckworth, Everitt, Farooki, Fellows, Garner, D Green, Keen, Kup, Makinson, Matterface, Pat Moore, Paul Moore, Munns, Anne-Marie Nixey, Ovenden, Packman, Pope, Pugh, Rattigan, Rogers, Rusiecki, Scobie, W Scobie, Scott, Smith, Towning, Whitehead, Worrow, Wright and Yates

1. <u>APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE</u>

Apologies for absence were received from the following members:

Councillor Bambridge; Councillor Driver; Councillor Huxley; Councillor Manners; Councillor Pressland; Councillor Wing.

2. <u>MINUTES OF THE PREVIOUS MEETING</u>

It was proposed by the Chair, seconded by Councillor Albon and agreed that the minutes of the Council Meeting held on 7 December 2023 be approved and signed by the Chair.

3. ANNOUNCEMENTS

The Section 151 Officer, Chris Blundell, notified the Chair that there had been an error in section 11 of the Budget Report. The report had been republished, the Chair granted members a ten minute recess to allow for members to read the updated report ahead of the agenda item.

4. DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST

There were no declarations of interest.

5. DRAFT CORPORATE PLAN 2024-28

It was proposed by the Leader and seconded by Councillor Whitehead that:

1. That Thanet District Council approves the proposed Corporate Plan for 2024-28 and implements this with immediate effect.

Members agreed.

6. <u>HRA BUDGET 2024/25</u>

It was noted that in accordance with council procedure rule 17.6, a recorded vote would be taken on the motion or any amendments and substantive motions.

It was proposed by Councillor Yates and seconded by Councillor Whitehead that:

1. That the HRA budget for 2024/25 is approved;

2. That the revised Housing Revenue Account capital programme (Annex for 2024- 28 is approved;

3. That the HRA business plan is noted.

The Monitoring Officer conducted a recorded vote on the motion as follows: 32 Councillors voted in favour of the motion.

Councillors Albon, Ara, Austin, Boyd, J. Bright, K. Bright, Britcher, Crittenden, Currie, D'Abbro, Donaldson, Duckworth, Edwards, Everitt, Farooki, Garner, Green, Keen, Makinson, Matterface, Pat Moore, Munns, Nixey, Ovenden, Owen-Hughes, Packman, Pope, H. Scobie, W. Scobie, Smith, Whitehead and Yates.

16 Councillors abstained from the motion.

Councillors Bayford, Braidwood, Davis, Dawson, Dennis, Fellows, Kup, Paul Moore, Pugh, Rattigan, Rogers, Rusiecki, Scott, Towning, Worrow and Wright.

The motion was AGREED.

7. BUDGET 2024/25 AND FEES AND CHARGES

It was noted that in accordance with council procedure rule 17.6, a recorded vote would be taken on the motion or any amendments and substantive motions.

It was proposed by Councillor Yates and seconded by Councillor Everitt that: 1. That the 2024/25 General Fund revenue budget, as amended from the original draft, be approved:

2. That the 2024-28 General Fund capital programme, as amended, be approved; 3. That the 2024/25 schedule of Fees and Charges be approved.

Councillor Rattigan proposed and Councillor Pugh seconded the following amendment:

"That residential parking permits increases are frozen for this financial year which allows time for the review to be completed."

The Monitoring Officer conducted a recorded vote on the motion as follows: 48 Councillors voted in favour of the amendment.

Councillors Albon, Ara, Austin, Bayford, Boyd, Braidwood, J. Bright, K. Bright, Britcher, Crittenden, Currie, D'Abbro, Davis, Dawson, Dennis, Donaldson, Duckworth, Edwards, Everitt, Farooki, Fellows, Garner, Green, Keen, Kup, Makinson, Matterface, Pat Moore, Paul Moore, Munns, Nixey, Ovenden, Owen-Hughes, Packman, Pope, Pugh, Rattigan, Rogers, Rusiecki, H. Scobie, W. Scobie, Scott, Smith, Towning, Whitehead, Worrow, Wright and Yates.

No Members voted against the amendment.

No Members abstained against the amendment.

The amendment was AGREED.

Councillor Worrow proposed and Councillor Braidwood seconded the following amendment:

"In view of the continuing cost of living crisis, and other financial pressures affecting household budgets, this amendment calls for Council Tax charges to be frozen at last year's levels.

It is recognised that this caring move would not be without cost, so this amendment proposes that the increase monies be drawn from the council reserves."

The Monitoring Officer conducted a recorded vote on the motion as follows:

3 Councillors voted in favour of the amendment.

Councillors Braidwood, Dennis and Worrow.

13 Councillors voted to abstain from the motion.

Councillors Bayford, Davis, Dawson, Fellows, Kup, Paul Moore, Pugh, Rattigan, Rogers, Rusiecki, Scott, Towning and Wright.

32 Councillors voted against the amendment.

Councillors Albon, Ara, Austin, Boyd, J. Bright, K. Bright, Britcher, Crittenden, Currie, D'Abbro, Donaldson, Duckworth, Edwards, Everitt, Farooki, Garner, Green, Keen, Makinson, Matterface, Pat Moore, Munns, Nixey, Ovenden, Owne-Hughes, Packman, Pope, H. Scobie, W. Scobie, Smith, Whitehead and Yates.

The amendment was LOST.

The substantive motion was then put to the vote:

The Monitoring Officer conducted a recorded vote on the motion as follows: 45 Councillors voted in favour of the substantive motion.

Councillors Councillors Albon, Ara, Austin, Bayford, Boyd, J. Bright, K. Bright, Britcher, Crittenden, Currie, D'Abbro, Davis, Dawson, Donaldson, Duckworth, Edwards, Everitt, Farooki, Fellows, Garner, Green, Keen, Kup, Makinson, Matterface, Pat Moore, Paul Moore, Munns, Nixey, Ovenden, Owen-Hughes, Packman, Pope, Pugh, Rattigan, Rogers, Rusiecki, H. Scobie, W. Scobie, Scott, Smith, Towning, Whitehead, Wright and Yates.

3 Councillors voted against the substantive motion.

Councillors Braidwood, Dennis and Worrow.

No Councillors voted to abstain.

The Motion was AGREED.

8. <u>CHANGES TO COMMITTEES</u>

The Chair proposed, the Vice Chair seconded the recommendations in the report be set out.

The Leader requested for Councillor Britcher to be added to the Governance and Audit Committee. There would be a removal of Councillor Everitt and Councillor Whitehead as substitute members of Governance and Audit Committee, Councillor Crittenden and Councillor H. Scobie would replace the two as the substitutes.

On the Overview and Scrutiny Panel, Councillor D'Abbro would be replaced by Councillor J. Bright.

Councillor Garner requested for Councillor Munns to be added to the reserve list for the Planning Committee.

Councillor Pugh had no new nomination changes.

Councillor Worrow had no new nomination changes.

Members agreed.

Meeting concluded : 8.19 pm